Filter Specialty
Submit To The Journals

Arthur Sun Myint

The Clatterbridge Cancer Centre NHS Foundation Trust and University of Liverpool.

Prof. Sun Myint graduated from IM (2) Mingaladon, Burma in 1972. He was appointed as a Clinical scientist for MRC Neutron trial project in 1983 and chaired the colorectal sub-group for neutron trials until 1995. He was the chair of TSG in Gastrointestinal malignancies at Clatterbridge Centre for Oncology (1998-2012) where he worked as a consultant for over 25 years. His main research interest is in the treatment of rectal cancers. He introduced contact radiotherapy (Papillon) into the UK and started treating patients at Clatterbridge from 1993. So far, he has treated over 700 patients using Papillon technique which is the world largest cohort of patients. He helped design a new contact radiotherapy machine together with his mentor Prof Jean Pierre Gerard in collaboration with Ariane Company. He is the director of minimally invasive radiotherapy course at Clatterbridge (2010-present).
He was appointed specialist advisor for NICE for rectal brachytherapy and helped write the guide lines published in Dec 2006. He was a member of NCRI rectal and anal sub group committees (1995-2012) and now serves as an advisor to the NCRI rectal sub group. He has published over 60 peer reviewed publications and an author of 7 text book chapters. He was the guest editor for special issues of Clinical Oncology (Vol. 19: No 9; Nov, 2007) and Colorectal Disease (Vol 12: Supp 2: Aug, 2010) on radiotherapy for early rectal cancer and advanced rectal cancer.
He served as the oncology representative on the Council of Association of Coloproctology from 2006-2009. He was elected on the faculty (2006-2009) then served on the Council of the Royal College of Radiologists (2009-2012). In 2008 he was awarded Cochrane Shanks/Jalil travelling Professor by the Royal College of Radiologists. In May 2011, he was appointed by GEC-ESTRO committee to chair the brachytherapy group for rectal and anal cancers. He was elected as the President of International Contact Radiotherapy Society (ICONE) in May 2013. He is the Lead clinician of Papillon Unit at the Clatterbridge Cancer Centre which has opened in June 2013. In recognition of his contributions to medicine and oncology he was awarded an Honorary Professor by the University of Liverpool in Dec, 2012.

Published Content

  • Touch Medical Media Limited, trading as Touch Medical Media, is a private limited company registered in England and Wales at The White House, Mill Road, Goring, Reading, England, RG8 9DD with registered number 08197142. © 2019 All rights reserved.

    touchONCOLOGY is for informational purposes and intended for healthcare professionals only. Its content should not be considered medical advice, diagnosis or treatment recommendations.